My Battle Call


As I wrapped my arms around my then nearly nine-year-old son, I was flooded with memories and overcome. This boy~wrapped in my love~had hijacked my heart.

For the first time, in too many years to remember, he allowed me to snuggle him to sleep. I couldn’t help but reflect on the many years of pain and fear that led to this moment; the journey we had taken; and now the feel of his skin.

Quietly…The sound of his gentle breath, transported me back to his little life, an infant, and the beginning of this road.

Sometimes with little grace and often with much angst, we traveled in and through the unknown.  

Judgement from some who were suppose to love us most. Advice that patronized the gravity of our situation. And the beauty and love, empathy and support from many.

Tears flooded my face.  I grinned. I praised God. I was here, today, not only imagining his dreams (and selfishly my own) but knowing they could come to fruition. All wrapped up. In this present.

img_2107-1

4 Thoughts

Leave a Reply

